Seeds of betrayal

Betrayal

Unfairness thou art in name

I would have stood by you in anything!

I had done all in my strength to fight

To please you in your godlike stature

You who see everyone else fool and charlatan

To please and fatten your soul.

Puny; unworthy it was

But least you forget 

It was all I had .

I had to die to make the grade

It pained to give my all

An arm, a leg, a head, a heart.

My life got pathetic

My ego bruised  to tatters

I battered vainly in your presence.

Even though I got things done

My nights and dreams i laboured and groaned.

I know I had said I wouldn’t take my life without the pain

But this betrayal strikes me to the bone

A cold hand clutches my soul.

Oh my God its steely cold

And its abyss dark and deep.

It fills my heart and mind with a very cold dish;

“Revenge thou art my friend

I will embrace you

And I will serve you very cold

To freeze my enemy’s blood cold.”

In the name of friendship I ploughed.

In the name of love I watered

But my blood and sweat weren’t fertile enough.

Oh my God how I wish I had done like those of old

‘Planted a poison tree in the middle of my garden

Watered it with my pathetic  condition

Until such a time the fruit was ripe and ready

Knowing my enemy would steal as a dart in the night

To be strung by the neck under my apple tree!’

Leave a Reply

